Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

I’m a newbie – been using Joomla only 4 weeks, Teline III only 12 days. I’ve learned a lot & with the help of many here, I have built a nice and functioning website. http://www.65stillalive.com Now I’m seeking advice.

I want the website to be a portal to a community with social networking, blogs, jobs board, bulletin board, etc. I installed Community Builder (free — so I don’t have access to some features) — I’m not impressed. Does it work as the basis for a social network?

I’d going to install JA blog — is it built into Teline III – I can’t find it in the Extensions club. I’m going to install JA job board. Any advice?

I have experience with phpBB, and I found a patch http://www.mehdiplugins.com/misc/phpbbjoom.htm
    to integrate the BB with Joomla. After installing you hack the BB but not Joomla. I tried it on a plain vanilla Jomla and it worked – login to Joomla and you’re in the BB. Has anyone tried this with JA especially Teline III ? Is there a serious risk of screwing up my site? Any other ideas? I don’t like this BB we’re using here — to complex for the oldsters who are my audience, phpBB is familiar and idiot proof, just what I need,

BTW – you can join my community even if you’re not 65 — the site will welcome anyone interested in the aging population (kids, grandkids, caregivers, etc.) We could use some more testers to help trying things out.

I really appreciate all the support and advice — This is a friendly community!
    Mel

Arvind Chauhan Moderator

Dear melklein,

<blockquote>I’m a newbie – been using Joomla only 4 weeks, Teline III only 12 days. I’ve learned a lot & with the help of many here, I have built a nice and functioning website. http://www.65stillalive.com Now I’m seeking advice.</blockquote>
    Having used the quickstart, i hope you must be finding it easy to customize the site as per your wishes.

<blockquote>