Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

I’m new to Joomla, but have been reading up on it and doing tutorials. What got my attention in the first place was JA Teline II. Perhaps not the easiest template to start with, but still, I’d like to try.

My problem is I think it would be helpful to start with the Quickstart version, which I am trying to upload and install (using Extensions>Install/Uninstall), but it keeps timing out and failing. (I have been successful in uploading the actual template, but I could use the help of the Quickstart version.) I’ve tried watching the “upload Quickstart” tutorial that is on this site, but the audio drops out about 10-15 seconds in. I’ve actually watched it in silence hoping to get a clue. No luck.

Short version: Can anybody tell me how to upload the quickstart to my hosted website?

unixboymd Friend

You upload the quickstart by doing the following:

1. Unzip the file locally on your computer.
    2. Use your FTP program to upload the quickstart files to your server / hosting provider and the directory of your choice.
    3. Install like any other Joomla! installation – making sure you install the SAMPLE DATA. The Sample Data is where the demo content comes in.
    4. Once installed, rename or delete the installation directory.
    5. QuickStart installation is finished – go to your site.

dagle Friend

I appreciate that. I did steps 1 & 2. I’m a little fuzzy on step 3. When you say install, what I’m trying to do is use the Extensions>Install/Uninstall feature in Joomla!, but when I enter the directory in my hosting provider of where I’ve copied the files, it gives me an error message and tells me to “please enter a package directory.”

I get the sense that I’m supposed to not just enter a directory name, but an actual file name. I see some files called install.php and a directory called installation, but I keep trying to type these in and keep getting the same error message.