Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Is there an easy way to put a full-width logo/banner in the header?

I’ve followed Scotty’s excellent tip (thanks, Scotty!) on how to put a full banner in the header area (http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/how-to-place-a-full-banner-in-the-header-area/), but that width is restricted to 468x60px. My client wants one that will include the logo and branding and run full width (980px?).

I’m a newbie to both Joomla and Teline III, but from what I can tell (using Firebug) the demo version I’ve installed has the logo inside the logo-text div, floated left, and the search module inside the ja-search div, floated right, both inside the inner clearfix div, which has 15px padding left and right.

Is the answer to replace the current logo and search positions with a new one and, if so, how?

Thanks in advance for your help

Nick

nickwigzell Friend

I think I’ve worked out how to do this, if anyone is interested.

This assumes that you’ve already shifted the search module into the mega-item position by following Scotty’s instructions (http://www.joomlart.com/forums/topic/how-to-place-a-full-banner-in-the-header-area/).

Disable any banner module that you’ve assigned to the search position (see link above). If the search position is empty, it seems to disappear or not to load, thereby clearing the way for a full-width logo gif.

Go to Extensions/Template Manager/JA_Teline_III and in the basic settings on the right select Image under Logo Type and save the changes.

Create a 950px x 62px image. The template is 980px wide (I think) but the container div surrounding the logo has 15px padding left and right. Save it as logo.gif and replace the default Teline 3 logo.gif in Templates/ja_teline_iii/images. I renamed the original logo.gif instead of overwriting it, just in case I needed it again.

Open your template.css file and find these at about line 850:

h1.logo {
    width: 265px;
    height: 62px;
    margin: 0;
    }