Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

OK, I am no newbie in Joomla and by now I am pretty familiar with Teline III, having used professionally all three versions.
    Hold on for the ride because this is a long one, but I promise it’s worth it.

I built a large site using Teline III and luckily the template is so well built that I didn’t have to make many changes to the code except for minor graphic/CSS tweaks and a few changes to accommodate the way I work with Joomla. (Mostly strategically inserted comments and a couple of custom positions).

The site sports a lot of components, too numerous to list all. Among the big ones are:

• K2
    • Jomsocial
    • MyBlog
    • Jomcomment
    • Virtuemart

And many more minor ones. But all of them work pretty well.

Because I modified the ja_news modules (mod_janews2 and mod_janews_fp) in the Home page to work with K2 instead of the Joomla content, I had to sacrifice, at least for the moment, the color coding those modules allow.
    Also, because I was working with a partner, we mis-communicated and somehow the Jazin plugin created another menu called “Main Menu” (in addition to the default Joomla menu) which contains a “default Home Page” link (as well as the magazine menu).

Amazingly, the site worked pretty well for at least a month even with this weird set up. I discovered the duplication when at some point it loaded an alternate home page. I went to look at the cause and I discovered the duplicate Main Menu and relative “Home” default link.

But that’s not the problem I am having. I am listing it here in case it’s relevant and in a staging site I have already fixed the issue.

The really weird things I am experiencing are these:

1) ——————————————————
    The Magazine Menu Links, which by now are independent of the Jazin plugin, are out of order. The Home Link is in the third spot in the list, preceded by 2 additional links and relative sub-menus (see image).